Lego Marvel Superheroes bring in the brutes, announces over a dozen playable heroes.



There are a couple of things that you can expect from Traveller Tales and their Lego games, A love for the source material, simple gameplay, family oriented humour and a ton of playable characters. The news this week is mainly focused on the later as they announced that their upcoming game, Lego Marvel Superheroes will feature up to 150 characters.

While it had already been confirmed that Ironman, Hulk, Spider-man, Wolverine, Sandman and The Abomination (along with the rest of the avengers) will be in the game, at the San Diego Comic-Con a plethora of new characters were announced including the following:

  • Dr. Doom
  • Jean Grey
  • Beast
  • Gambit
  • Storm
  • Elektra
  • Magneto
  • Vulture
  • Silver Samurai
  • Punisher
  • Green Goblin
  • Iron Patriot (as a pre-order bonus)
  • Squirrel Girl
  • Sabertooth
  • Deadpool
  • Howard the Duck
  • The Blob
  • Rhino
  • Kingpin
  • Colossus
  • The Thing
  • Juggernaut
  • Loki
  • Deadpool

Special focus went to the the heavy characters, big characters like the Hulk and the Abomination who were not made from normal Lego characters. These Brutes are both playable and featured as boss battles, making it feel much more dangerous and challenging then most other Lego games.

The game will continue the recent trend of using voice over (which the Lego games have been doing since Lego Batman 2) and will feature Troy Baker as Loki, as well as Clark Gregg and Nolan North reprising their now famous roles as Agent Coulson and Deadpool repetitively. It was also announced that Stan Lee himself will also be a character in the game as well.

LEGO Marvel Super Heroes’ is coming out later this fall for Xbox 360, PS3, PC, 3DS, DS, PS Vita, and Wii U (sometime later for Xbox One and PS4).