E3’s press conferences are a jumbled mess this year

E3 is one of my favourite time of the year because we treat it like a giant work party here at GameItAll. BBQ, Games, Press Conferences that shows off all the games we can get hyped for and look forward to covering on the site until (and after) its release. All in all, it’s a good time with friends.

This year though, the conferences are a jumbled mess making the event 5 days long. This is thanks to the press conferences starting on a Saturday rather then the usual Monday. EA starts their conference on Saturday June 10th with their EA Play event, with Microsoft and Bethesda taking the Sunday slots and finally Ubisoft and Sony keeping the traditional Monday slot. Meanwhile the actual E3 show (which has been open to the public this year for the first time ever) will actually run from June 13-15.

Here are the dates and times that the conferences will run.

E3 2017 Press Conference Dates And Times:

Saturday, June 10

  • Electronic Arts — The company’s EA Play event begins at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 8 PM GMT.

Sunday, June 11

  • Microsoft — 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM GMT
  • Bethesda — No specific time has been announced yet, but it will be during the evening

Monday, June 12

  • Ubisoft* — Early afternoon (based on last year’s timing)
  • Sony — 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET / 2 AM GMT (June 13)

*This timing is not yet confirmed

 

Now there is some benefits to having the conferences spread out like this, as those who are paying attention to the gaming news during this time won’t be bombarded with news from each of the conferences in one day and will be able to really take in everything that was announced. This makes sense with Microsoft being on Sunday as they’ll be announcing more information about the upcoming Xbox Scorpio. Still the separation of the conferences does make the event feel less special, less of a celebration of gaming and the industry itself.

That or I just don’t like change.

That being said, we’re still going to be holding our annual E3 Party and will be live on Twitch throughout the day as well. Keep an eye on our Twitter and Facebook  for more information.